1985 Cowgirls basketball team ['12]

The 1985 Cowgirls basketball team under the guidance of head coach Monte Madewell and assistant Bill Martin, won Connors State first-ever national championship at Senatobia, Miss., as No. 8 seed at the national tournament, capturing a 73-71 victory over top-ranked Odessa Junior College in the championship game, to end the season with a 32-4 record. Team members of the championship squad are Lisa McMillin, Traci Krumsiek, Carolyn Greuel, Michelle Gordon, Stacy Cunningham, Gail Cooks, Vicki Price, Jan Gilmore, Alicia Burke, Rhonda Smith, Tonya Godsby, Mannon Mahan, Wendy Sanders, DeDe McLemore, and LaDonna James.