1990 National Championship Team [Basketball '15]

The 1990 Connors State College men’s basketball team was the first in Connors’ history to win the national championship title. The Cowboys, coached by Ed Stepp, defeated the College of Southern Idaho 103--87 at Hutchinson, Kan.

The team was led by Elmore Spencer, Reggie Tinch, and Sebastian Neal, Angelo Hamilton, and Mike Allen. 

Spencer went on to play for the University of Nevada in Las Vegas, and the NBA’s Los Angeles Clippers. Tinch had an outstanding career at the University of Georgia as did Neal at Oral Roberts University, Hamilton at the University of Oklahoma, and Allen at Southwestern Louisiana University.

Also signing with Division I schools were Aaron Sunderland, Eddie Shepherd and Marc Whaley. Other team members included John Barrett, Howard Hampton, and Bryan Jarrad. Assistant coaches were Doug Durham and Briam McLaughlin. Team managers were Tracey Cole and David Adams. The team posted a 32-2 record that year.